In: Finance
Each advertiser is bidding $3 CPM. Is this a good idea? For which advertiser it makes sense and for which it doesn’t? Fill out the blank parts of the chart and provide reasoning.
Advertiser 1 |
Advertiser 2 |
Advertiser 3 |
|
CTR |
0.8% |
0.7% |
0.6% |
Conversion Rate |
2.3% |
3.1% |
1.9% |
Profit per conversion |
$15 |
$20 |
$30 |
CPM |
$3 |
$3 |
$3 |
CPC |
|||
CPA |
Blank parts are solved individually:
Advertiser 1 | Advertiser 2 | Advertiser 3 | |
CTR | 0.8% | 0.7% | 0.6% |
Conversion Rate | 2.3% | 3.1% | 1.9% |
Profit Per Conversion | $15 | $20 | $30 |
CPM | $3 | $3 | $3 |
CPC | (a) | (c) | (e) |
CPA | (b) | (d) | (f) |
(a) CTR is the percentage of ads clicked per number of impressions.
Hence out of every 1000 impressions (which will cost $3), 8 of them will be clicked.
So, Cost per click (CPC) = Total cost of clicks / Total number of clicks
= $3 / 8
= $0.375 per click
(b) Cost per Action (CPA) is the cost incurred by an advertiser in converting a customer (making a sale).
From (a), 8 advertisements will be clicked, out of which conversion will be of 0.184 customer(s) (2.3%)
CPA = Total cost incurred in performing the action / Total number of actions performed
= $3 / 0.184
= $16.304 (approx.) per action (sale)
(c) CTR is the percentage of ads clicked per number of impressions.
Hence out of every 1000 impressions (which will cost $3), 7 of them will be clicked.
So, Cost per click (CPC) = Total cost of clicks / Total number of clicks
= $3 / 7
= $0.4285 (approx.) per click
(d) Cost per Action (CPA) is the cost incurred by an advertiser in converting a customer (making a sale).
From (c), 7 advertisements will be clicked, out of which conversion will be of 0.217 customer(s) (3.1%)
CPA = Total cost incurred in performing the action / Total number of actions performed
= $3 / 0.217
= $13.825 (approx.) per action (sale)
(e) CTR is the percentage of ads clicked per number of impressions.
Hence out of every 1000 impressions (which will cost $3), 6 of them will be clicked.
So, Cost per click (CPC) = Total cost of clicks / Total number of clicks
= $3 / 6
= $0.5 per click
(f) Cost per Action (CPA) is the cost incurred by an advertiser in converting a customer (making a sale).
From (e), 6 advertisements will be clicked, out of which conversion will be of 0.114 customer(s) (1.9%)
CPA = Total cost incurred in performing the action / Total number of actions performed
= $3 / 0.114
= $26.316 (approx.) per action (sale)
Answer:
Advertiser 1 | Advertiser 2 | Advertiser 3 | |
CTR | 0.8% | 0.7% | 0.6% |
Conversion Rate | 2.3% | 3.1% | 1.9% |
Profit Per Conversion | $15 | $20 | $30 |
CPM | $3 | $3 | $3 |
CPC | $0.375 | $0.4285 | $0.5 |
CPA | $16.304 | $13.825 | $26.316 |
This is NOT a good idea for Advertiser 1 since his cost of acquisition (CPA) exceeds his profit per conversion. He/She will be incurring a net loss of $1.304 per conversion.
This is DEFINITELY a good idea for Advertiser 2 since his profit per conversion exceeds his cost of acquisition (CPA). He/She will be incurring a net profit of $6.175 per conversion.
This is DEFINITELY a good idea for Advertiser 3 since his profit per conversion exceeds his cost of acquisition (CPA). He/She will be incurring a net profit of $3.684 per conversion.