In: Finance
A borrower has the following two financing options: 80% LTV fully amortizing CPM for 25 years at 8% or 90% LTV CPM loan at 9% with similar terms. The borrower is not planning to prepay the loan.
a. Compute the incremental cost of borrowing the additional 10% (any property value should works).
b. What is the incremental cost of borrowing the additional 10% if the lender charges 2 discount points additional on the 90% loan?
c. Redo (b) assuming the borrower prepays the loan after 5 years.
Assumed Value of porperty = $1000,000.
Option | Loan amount | Interest rate | Loan period (months) | Monthly payments |
80% LTV | 800,000.00 | 8% | 300 | (6,174.53) |
90% LTV | 900,000.00 | 9% | 300 | (7,552.77) |
Difference | 100,000.00 | 1,378.24 |
The borrower will pay $1378.24 per month more for 25 years (300 monthly payments) on $100,000 amount excess borrowed. The incremental cost therefore will be calculated as follows, using a financial calculator:
N=25*12=300, PMT=-1378.24, PV=$100,000, FV=0, CPT-->i/y = 1.35%, which is a monthly rate.
yearly rate = (1+0.0135)^12 - 1 = 17.46%
Monthly payments has been calculated as under:
b.
Option | Loan amount | Points @2% | Net proceeds | Interest rate | Loan period (months) | Monthly payments |
80% LTV | 800,000.00 | - | 800,000.00 | 8% | 300 | (6,174.5) |
90% LTV | 900,000.00 | 18,000.00 | 882,000.00 | 9% | 300 | (7,552.8) |
Difference | 82,000.00 | 1,378.24 |
Now instead, the borrower will pay $1378.24 monthly on net incremental proceeds of $82,000. The incremental cost of which is:
N=300, PMT=-1378.24, PV=82,000, FV=0, CPT-->i/y=1.67%
Yearly incremental rate = (1+0.0167)^12 - 1= 21.97%
c. We need to calculate the loan balance after 5 years:
FV = PV(1+r)^n - (Payment*[((1+r)^n)-1]/r)
Now we need to calculate the i/y, with following info:
N=5*12=60, PMT=-1378.24, PV=82,000, FV=-101,260.44, CPT-->i/y=1.89%
Yearly incremental rate = (1+0.0189)^12 - 1= 25.26%