In: Finance
A TV satellite provider charges $42 a month for its basic service package. Its variable costs are $4 a month per account. The company spends $24 a year per account on marketing with an attrition rate of 1% a month. Assuming an annual discount rate of 5%, calculate the maximum amount that this company could spend to acquire a new customer and still provide a positive expected contribution.
Please show the work as I’m trying to learn the concept
Here we need to first calculate the CAC or customer acquisition cost which is Lifetime value of customer to the company. Usually CAC or customer acquisition cost is Sales and Marketing cost/ number of customers but we don't have number of customers details we'll go by below method,
Since, 1% is the churn or retention rate that means 12% a yaer and on an average a customer remains with the company for 8 years.
CAC= 42*12*8 i.e monthly price multiplied with months in year he'll use the subcrition * No of years expected
$4032 is the Lifetime value of customer to company.
Now, we need to find out the profit margin for the customer. Based on given details, 42-4-2-5% Discount Rate.
Since, Fixed cost is not mentioned I'll assume it to be $20.
So the profit margin is 42-4-2-2-20=$14 and margin is 34%
COGS or Cost of Goods Sold is $28 and company cannot sell below this margin without incurring losses.