Question

In: Operations Management

Comcast, Inc. (the cable tv company) is trying to determine the Lifetime Value of its customers....

Comcast, Inc. (the cable tv company) is trying to determine the Lifetime Value of its customers. Here are some facts related to Comcast customers: - A study of historical sales data reveals that the average customer brings in about $2500 of sales revenues each year. - A study of historical cost data reveals that the average cost to service and retain a customer is about $700 per year. - Comcast spends about $500 to acquire a new customer, on average. - Comcast retains approximately 75% of its customers from one year to the next. - Comcast's discount rate is 7%. --

a. Calculate the Lifetime Value of a Comcast customer using the infinite time horizon version of the CLV formula.

b. How does your answer to a. change if year-to-year customer retention drops to 50% (and everything else stays the same)? c. What is the maximum amount Comcast can spend to acquire a customer and still maintain a positive Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)? (use the original assumptions above and ignore the fact that Comcast currently spends $500 to acquire a customer)

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Expert Solution

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Given,

Average sales revenue = $2,500
Average cost of service = $700
Customer discount = 7%
Retention Ratio = 75%
Customer Acquisition cost = $500

Part a:

Margin per period = (Average sales revenue - Average cost of service) - Acquisition cost

= $2,500 - $700 - $500

                             = $1,300

CLV = Margin per period × ( (1 + d) / (1+d-r))

= $1,300 × ( (1 + 0.07) / (1+0.07 - 0.75))

= $1,300 × ( 1.07 / 0.32)

= $4,346.875

Part b:

Retention ratio is 50%

Margin per period = (Average sales revenue - Average cost of service) - Acquisition cost

                             = $2,500 - $700 - $500

                             = $1,300

CLV = Margin per period × ( (1 + d) / (1+d-r))

= $1,300 × ( (1 + 0.07) / (1+0.07 - 0.50))

= $1,300 × ( 1.07 / 0.57)

= $2,440.35

Part c:

The maximum amount that can be spent to acquire a customer is average sales minus Average Cost,

that is $1,800($2,500 - $700).

At that point, CLV is also positive but after $1,800, CLV will be negative.

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